Xu Zhongmin

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Xu Zhongmin was born in 1961 in Mianyang, China. He currently lives and works in London and Beijing.


Xu Zhongmin’s works are characterized by a synthetic quality, which is reflected in his combination of sculpture, installation, video, and other artistic media in the exterior forms of his work, as well as the mixture and refining of the stylistic traits of these media in the thinking behind his work. His means and methods are unique because Xu considers our lived states and their future directions in an era of new technologies. His dazzling mechanical installations of sound and light hide an almost religious inquisition that stems from personal experience. His pieces allow viewers to engage with the artist through self-redemption presented with a visual and psychological weight that is traceable but unspeakable. His most important works include Bridge, Tunnel, Turning Mountain, Bubbles, and Ladder.


Xu’s work has been exhibited in museums in the UK, Germany, Austria, Japan, and France. His work has been collected by the British Museum, White Rabbit Gallery, Today Art Museum, Hokkaido Museum of Modern Art, Uli Sigg, and other institutions and private collectors.


Xu Zhongmin has won a number of international art awards, including the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Award, the Norweb Prize at the Manchester Academy of Fine Arts Annual Exhibition, First Prize at the Third Sapporo International Print Biennial, and the Guinness Prize for the Best First-Time Exhibitor at the Royal Academy of Arts.

许仲敏

展览时间:
展览地址:

许仲敏,1961年生于中国绵阳,现工作生活于中国北京、英国伦敦。

 

许仲敏作品的典型特征是综合性,这种综合性既是外部形态上是对雕塑、装置和影像等不同艺术类型所进行的资源整合,更是在其思考方式上对它们所拥有的各自不同语言特征的糅合和再次提炼。这种方式和方法上的独特性来自于许仲敏对新科技时代生命存在状态及其未来走向的思考,在声光电这样炫目、迷人的传动机械装置的背后掩藏着由个体经验出发的一种宗教性追问,它引领观众不断触摸艺术家通过自我救赎展现出来的视觉心理上可追溯但难以言说的深沉。其代表性作品包括《桥》《隧道》《转山》以及《气泡》《梯》等。

 

许仲敏的作品先后应邀在英国、德国、澳大利、日本、法国等国家的美术馆和博物馆展出,并被大英博物馆、白兔美术馆、今日美术馆、北海道现代艺术博物馆、乌里·希克等机构和个人收藏。

 

许仲敏曾获得过众多国际艺术奖项,如:美国波洛克国际艺术基金会奖、英国曼彻斯特艺术院年展NORWEB最佳奖、第三届札幌国际版画双年展一等奖、第229届英国皇家艺术院夏季大展最佳新人奖等。