Weng Yunpeng

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Weng Yunpeng was born in 1964 in Jingdezhen China. He currently lives and works in Beijing and Shanghai.


He has always been interested in the Chinese contemporary visual experience and the paradoxes that exist within reality, and his work reflects a number of contemporary issues. In an era of images, what are we actually seeing and how are we seeing it  Weng cares about the “reality of seeing.” All of his work, from his oil paintings to his photography, are encompassed within his own system.


More than a decade ago, his oil paintings began to appear on TV, and he began to notice the optics of television appear in daily life and the various kinds of scenes that appeared on the television. His works come from the specific contexts of China, and so, in the context of globalization, the scenes in his work that are disappearing due to urbanization belong to the whole world.


Today, he has further focused his attention on the TV screen, a vehicle for the presentation of images and subtitles. Text and images seem connected yet divergent, and translation causes even greater divergences. Text and images both represent the world, and all the artist has to do is capture these “pictorial ready-mades.” Everything before our eyes clearly comes from reality, but do we know what is real and what is not? This question once again shakes the truth of reality. Weng Yunpeng rearranges “pictorial ready-mades” to create a new narrative that is almost rational. Even so, the possible arrangements are endless, but the uniqueness of the narrative is also suspect. However, can it be that our experiences with images in our daily lives are not being fragmented and reassembled in everyone’s minds?


Weng Yunpeng’s work compels us to follow his doubting gaze and reexamine the familiar world around us, but we also appreciate that his work is unified by his warmth and compassion.


www.wengyunpeng.com

翁云鹏

展览时间:
展览地址:

翁云鹏,1964年生于中国景德镇,现生活、工作于中国北京、上海。

 

翁云鹏始终关注中国当代视觉经验,关注存在于现实本身的悖论。和他作品相关的是一系列的当代命题:在这个图像时代,我们究竟在看些什么,又是怎样在看?翁云鹏关心的是“观看的现实”。从油画到摄影,他的创作自成体系。

 

早在十多年前,他的油画作品中就开始出现电视,关注日常生活中对电视的观看以及电视所处的形形色色的鲜活场景。他的作品来自中国的特定语境,然而在全球化的今天,作品中随着城市化进程不断消逝的景观同时属于全世界。

 

如今他将目光进一步聚焦电视屏幕,与图像同时呈现的是字幕。文字与图像,似乎关联又似乎背离,更有因转译引发的歧义。文与图,同为世界的再现,作者只是抓取“图像的现成品”。眼前的一切明明来自现实,然而孰真孰幻?现实的真实再次被动摇。翁云鹏更是将“图像的现成品”重新排序,构成似乎合理的新叙事。然而,排序的可能性无限,叙述的唯一性同样遭到质疑。但是,我们在日常生活所获得的图像经验难道不正是在每个人的头脑中碎片化并重新编写吗?

 

翁云鹏的作品将使我们随着他怀疑的眼光,重新观看周遭熟悉的世界,但同时感受到作品中一以贯之的来自他内心的温暖与同情。

 

个人网站:www.wengyunpeng.com