Peng Wei

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Peng Wei was born in 1974 in Chengdu, China. In 2000, she graduated from the department of Eastern Culture and Art at Nankai University, obtaining a bachelor’s degree in literature and a master’s degree in philosophy. From 2000 to 2007, she served as an editor of Art. In 2007, she became a guest painter at the Beijing Fine Art Academy. She currently lives and works in Beijing.


Beginning with Stone series in 2000, she has created seven series, including ShoeRobePainted Installation, Taking off the Shell, and Letters from a Distance. She blends a variety of media, such as painting, installation, video, and photography, into her practice, making her an important Chinese contemporary ink painter. Peng Wei relies on the methods of traditional Chinese painting and a very personal vision. She links traditional ideas to the present and the West, in an effort to find balance between the past and the present. She has held numerous solo exhibitions in New York, Hong Kong, Taipei, Beijing, and Shanghai. She has also participated in large contemporary art exhibitions in Asia, Europe, North America, and Oceania, such as the Beijing Biennale, the Chengdu Biennale, “Translucence: Female Contemporary Art from China,” “Shanshui: Landscape in Chinese Contemporary Art,” and “Ink Remix: Contemporary Art from China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong.” In 2014, her series Letters from a Distance was selected for the Signature Art Prize at the Singapore Art Museum. In 2015, her work was featured in “Coming Full Circle: Peng Wei Solo Exhibition,” “Copyleft: China Appropriation Art,” and “A New Dynasty: Created in China.”


Peng’s work has been collected by the Museum of Fine Arts Boston, the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, the Brooklyn Museum, M+, the National Art Museum of China, the Hong Kong Museum of Art, the Guangdong Museum of Art, the He Xiangning Art Museum, the Beijing Fine Art Academy Museum, the Sigg Collection, and the DSL Collection.


www.pengwei.info

彭薇

展览时间:
展览地址:

彭薇,1974年生于中国成都,毕业于南开大学东方文化艺术系,并先后获文学学士和哲学硕士学位。现为北京画院专职画家,生活、工作于中国北京。


2000年以“遗石系列”为开端,彭薇先后创作了“绣履记”、“锦绣”系列、“绘画装置系列”、“脱壳系列”、“遥远的信件系列”等7个系列,涉及平面绘画,三维装置、录像、照片等多种形式,成为中国当代水墨的代表之一。彭薇凭借传统中国绘画的手段和非常私人的目光,将古代资源与现在连接,并与西方资源对接,寻求过去与当下的平衡。先后在纽约、香港、台北、北京、上海多地举办个展,并参加北京双年展、成都双年展、“镜花水月——中国当代女性艺术展”、“山水——中国当代艺术展”“水墨混搭:来自中国大陆、台湾和香港的当代艺术”以及“世代转化的中国创造”(丹麦奥尔胡斯现代艺术博物馆)、“著作权:中国挪用艺术”(中国上海当代艺术博物馆)等展览。2014年“遥远的信件”系列入选新加坡美术馆“亚太地区当代杰出艺术家奖”。 


其作品被美国波斯顿美术馆、旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆、纽约布鲁克林美术馆、香港M+美术馆、中国美术馆、香港艺术博物馆、广东美术馆、何香凝美术馆、北京画院美术馆、瑞士Sigg Collection、法国DSL Collection等机构收藏。


个人网站:www.pengwei.info