Liu Jianhua

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Liu Jianhua was born in 1962 in Ji’an, China. He graduated from the Jingdezhen Ceramics Institute in 1989. He currently lives and works in Shanghai.


Since the 1980s, Liu has experimented within a contemporary context. His porcelain and mixed-media works reflect recent economic and social changes and their impact on China. His Regular Fragile series, first shown at the Venice Biennale Chinese Pavilion in 2003, was composed of porcelain replicas of ordinary objects that privileged appearance and symbolism over function. In 2008, he shifted his attention away from a close and direct focus on the problems of globalization and intense social change in China. He proposed the idea of “no meaning, no content,” and beginning that year with Untitled, he explored new directions and developed his own expressive system for contemporary art.


Liu Jianhua’s works have been exhibited at the Kunstmuseum Bern, the Shanghai Art Museum, the Asian Art Museum, the National Art Museum of China, the Groninger Museum, Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, the Hamburg Art Center, the Mori Art Museum, Tate Liverpool, and the Center Pompidou. He has also participated in the Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial, the International Sculpture Biennale of Carrara, the Biennale of Sydney, the Nanjing Triennial, the Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, the Singapore Biennale, the Shanghai Biennale, and the Venice Biennale.


Liu Jianhua’s works have been collected by MoMA New York, the USC Pacific Art Museum, the K11 Art Foundation, the KODE Art Museums of Bergen, the Yuz Foundation, OCAT Shanghai, the Towada Art Center, the Guggenheim Museum, the Art Gallery of New South Wales, the Shanghai World Expo National Organizing Committee, the Shanghai World Financial Center, Santander Bank Art Center, Today Art Museum, Shenzhen Art Museum, the Guangdong Museum of Art, the Seoul Foundation for Arts and Culture, the Queensland Art Gallery, the Kawara Museum, the China Club, Coca-Cola Corporation, He Xiangning Art Museum, and the Museum of Arts and Crafts in Frankfurt.


http://www.liujianhua.net/

刘建华

展览时间:
展览地址:

刘建华,1962年生于中国吉安,毕业于景德镇陶瓷学院,现生活、工作于中国上海。


1980年代以来,刘建华尝试在当代背景下进行实验性的创作。其作品是对近年来不断困扰中国的经济和社会变化所作出的反映。《日常·易碎》系列于2003年威尼斯双年展中国馆中首次展出,刘建华将日常用品复制成外表和象征意义大于实用性的神秘物体。2008年,他一反先前多年对全球化及中国社会急剧转型引发的诸多问题、焦点的近距离直接关注,提出“无意义、无内容”的概念来进行创作,从2008年作品《无题》开始了一个全新方向的探索,并形成了当代艺术创作的个人语言体系。


刘建华的作品曾在瑞士伯尔尼艺术博物馆、上海美术馆、旧金山亚洲艺术博物馆、中国美术馆、荷兰格罗宁根艺术博物馆、奥地利维也纳路德维希当代美术馆、德国汉堡当代美术馆、东京森美术馆、英国利物浦泰特美术馆、法国蓬皮杜艺术中心等机构展出,并曾应邀参加参加日本越后妻有大地艺术祭三年展、卡拉拉国际雕塑双年展、悉尼双年展、南京三年展、莫斯科双年展、新加坡双年展、上海双年展、威尼斯双年展等展览。


刘建华作品被纽约MOMA美术馆、美国南加州大学亚太博物馆、K11艺术基金会、挪威俾尔根KODE美术馆、余德耀美术馆、上海浦江华侨城、日本十和田市美术馆、纽约古根海姆美术馆、澳大利亚悉尼新南威尔士博物馆、中国上海世博会组委会、中国上海环球金融中心、西班牙国家银行艺术中心、北京今日美术馆、深圳美术馆、广东美术馆、首尔艺术基金会、澳大利亚昆士兰美术馆、日本原美术馆、中国香港中国会、美国可口可乐公司、深圳何香凝美术馆、德国法兰克福工艺美术馆等机构收藏。


个人网站:http://www.liujianhua.net/