Florentijn Hofman

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Florentijn Hofman was born in 1977 in Delfzijl, the Netherlands. In 2000, he graduated from the Christian Academy of Fine Arts in Kampen, the Netherlands. He later received a master’s degree from Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee in Germany.


Hofman is best known for large animal sculptures in public space. His sculptures are massive in scale, leaving a deep impression on viewers. His oversized Rubber Duck has been traveling around the world since 2007, achieving international renown.


Hofman’s sculptures often originate from everyday objects. A straightforward paper boat, a pictogram of an industrial zone, or mass-produced toy figures can all serve as sources. They are all ready-mades, selected by Hofman for the beauty of their forms. Subsequently, he crafts these into clear and iconic images; cartoonish blow-ups of reality that alienate and unsettle through their sheer size and use of materials. Nevertheless they are immediately identifiable and have an instant appeal. Inflatables, window stickers, agricultural plastic sheeting: for Hofman any material can be made into art. Hofman’s projects are often very labor-intensive. Gravity is being defied though by his love of materials and craft.


An encounter with one of Hofman’s extraordinary sculptures invites us to stand still for a moment and to look, to really look and to take a picture if you like. Hofman notes, “My sculptures cause an uproar, astonishment, and put a smile on your face. They give people a break from their daily routines. Passers-by stop in front of them, get off their bicycles, and enter into conversation with other spectators. People are making contact with each other again. That is the effect of my sculptures in the public domain.”


http://www.florentijnhofman.nl/

弗洛伦泰因·霍夫曼
(Florentijn Hofman)

展览时间:
展览地址:

弗洛伦泰因·霍夫曼,1977年生于荷兰代尔夫宰尔,先后毕业于荷兰坎彭的基督教美术学院、德国柏林魏森塞艺术学院(获硕士学位)。


霍夫曼以在公共空间创作巨大造型物见长,他的雕塑作品的巨大体量,给观众留下了深刻印象。他所创作的巨型橡皮鸭子“大黄鸭”自2007年起开始在世界各地巡展,获得了极大的社会关注。


简单的折纸船、工业区的图纸或批量生产的玩具木偶等日常之物,是霍夫曼作品的形象和创意来源。霍夫曼善于挑选这些现成品,并将它们制作成明确的、偶像化的形象,但这些被放大了的卡通形象放在现实世界时,在这些巨大的尺寸和所使用的材料面前观众总会产生一丝不安。或因如此,这些作品形象具有极高辨识度,往往在瞬间吸引人的注意力。对霍夫曼来说任何材料都可以转化为艺术,无论它是充气玩具、玻璃窗贴纸还是农用塑料布。热衷于这类现成材料和巨大体量的制作方式,使霍夫曼的作品在实施中常需要极高的劳动强度


当你遇到一件巨大的霍夫曼作品时,可能会站在那儿好好瞧一瞧,或许还会照张相。霍夫曼说:“我的雕塑会引发人们的小小争执,在惊讶之余又会面露微笑。它让人们打破了日常生活的轨迹。路人在它面前驻足或从自行车上下来,与其他人讨论,它使人们多了一次互相沟通的机会。这就是我的雕塑作品在公共空间产生的影响。”


个人网站:http://www.florentijnhofman.nl/