Olafur Eliasson

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Olafur Eliasson was born in 1967 in Iceland, and he grew up in Denmark. He is a visual artist who works in a wide range of media, including installation, painting, sculpture, photography, and film. He currently lives and works in Copenhagen and Berlin.


Since 1997, his critically acclaimed solo shows have appeared around the world in major museums, such as the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, the Martin-Gropius-Bau in Berlin, SESC Belenzinho, SESC Pompeia, and Pinacoteca do Estado in São Paulo, and the Venice Biennale. In 2003, his hugely popular The Weather Project, installed in the Turbine Hall of Tate Modern in London, was seen by more than two million people. In 2010, Eliasson created Feelings are Facts at Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing, together with the architect Ma Yansong. The solo exhibition “We Have Never Been Disembodied” took place in 2015 at Mirrored Gardens, outside Guangzhou. His most recent solo exhibition in China is “Nothingness is Not Nothing at All” at Shanghai’s Long Museum in 2016. Eliasson’s projects in public space include Green River, realized in various cities between 1998 and 2001, The New York City Waterfalls in 2008, the facades of Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre (in collaboration with Henning Larsen Architects) from 2005 to 2011, and Cirkelbroen in Copenhagen in 2015.


Established in Berlin in 1995, his studio team now numbers about ninety people and includes craftsmen, technicians, architects, archivists, administrators, and cooks. The team engages in experimentation, research, and communication, and works with Eliasson to develop, produce, and archive his artworks and exhibitions.


From 2009 to 2014, Eliasson led the Institut fu?r Raumexperimente as a professor at the Berlin University of the Arts, and, in 2014, he became an adjunct professor at the Alle School of Fine Arts and Design in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.


In 2014, Eliasson and long-time collaborator Sebastian Behmann founded an international office for art and architecture, Studio Other Spaces, to focus on interdisciplinary and experimental building projects and works in public space.


In 2012, Eliasson and engineer Frederik Ottesen founded Little Sun, a social business that develops, produces, and distributes solar lamps for use in off-grid communities.

奥拉维尔·埃利亚松
(Olafur Eliasson)

展览时间:
展览地址:

奥拉维尔·埃利亚松,1967年生于冰岛,丹麦长大。这位视觉艺术家以装置、绘画、雕塑、摄影、影像等媒介进行艺术创作。埃利亚松目前生活工作于哥本哈根和柏林。

 

1997以来,他在世界各地的重要美术馆举办过广受好评的个展,包括纽约现代艺术博物馆、金沢21世纪美术馆、柏林马丁—格罗皮乌斯应用艺术博物馆、圣保罗的庞皮亚艺术中心、圣保罗贝林岑侯游泳馆艺术空间、圣保罗州立艺廊以及威尼斯双年展。2003年,他非常受欢迎的《气候项目》在伦敦泰特艺术博物馆涡轮机大厅展出,吸引超过200万观众到场参观。2010年,埃利亚松与建筑师马岩松为北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心创作《感觉即真实》。2015年,他在广州的“镜花园”空间呈现《我们始终形神一体》展览。最近在中国举办的个展是2016年上海龙美术馆的《无相万象》。埃利亚松在公共空间的项目包括,1998年-2001年在不同城市实施的《绿河》、2008年的《纽约瀑布》、2005年–2011年的哈尔帕雷克雅未克音乐厅和会议中心的水晶型建筑外立面(与亨宁拉森建筑师事务所合作)以及2015年的哥本哈根圆桥。

 

1995年在柏林创办了奥拉维尔·埃利亚松工作室,现在工作人员包括工匠、技师、建筑师、案卷保管人、行政人员、厨师等近90工作人员。这团队进行实验、研究和交流以及跟埃利亚松共同开展、制作和记录他的作品和展览。2009年-2014年,身为柏林艺术大学教授,埃利亚松领导着空间实验研究所。2014年,他成为埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴大学的艾尔艺术与设计学院副教授。

 

2014年,埃利亚松与长期合作伙伴和建筑师塞巴斯蒂安?贝曼在柏林成立了一个国际性的艺术与建筑工作室——他者空间工作室,工作室专注于跨学科和实验性的公共空间建筑项目。

 

2012年,埃利亚松和工程师弗雷德里克·奥特森创办了“小太阳”,一个社会化商务项目为离网社区开发、制作和分发太阳能灯具。