Marina Abramovic

Exhibition Dates:
Exhibition Venue:

Marina Abramovic was born in 1946 in Belgrade, Serbia. She graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Belgrade. She currently lives and works in New York City.


Since the beginning of her career in Belgrade during the early 1970s, Marina Abramovic has pioneered performance as a visual art form, creating some of the most important early works. The body has always been both her subject and medium. Exploring her physical and mental limits in works that ritualize the simple actions of everyday life, she has withstood pain, exhaustion, and danger in her quest for emotional and spiritual transformation. From 1975 to 1988, Abramovic and the German artist Ulay performed together, dealing with relations of duality. Abramovic returned to solo performances in 1989.

She has presented her work at major institutions in the Unites States and Europe, including the Stedelijk Van Abbemusem, the Centre Georges Pompidou, the Neue National Galerie, and the Museum of Modern Art, Oxford. She has also participated in many large-scale international exhibitions including the Venice Biennale and Documenta Kassel. Recent performances include "The House with the Ocean View" at Sean Kelly Gallery in New York, "7 Easy Pieces" at the Guggenheim Museum in New York. “The Artist is Present” at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, and “512 Hours” at the Serpentine Gallery in London.

She was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Artist at the 1997 Venice Biennale for the video installation and performance “Balkan Baroque.” She has also received the Austrian Commander Cross and she was named an Officer to the Order of Arts and Letters in France. Abramovic founded the Marina Abramovic Institute (MAI), a platform for immaterial and long durational work to create new possibilities for collaboration among thinkers of all fields. The institute inhabited its most complete form to date in 2015 as part of the exhibition “Terra Comunal” at SESC Pompeia in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

玛丽娜·阿布拉莫维奇
(Marina Abramovic)

展览时间:
展览地址:

玛丽娜·阿布拉莫维奇,1946年生于南斯拉夫贝尔格莱德,毕业于贝尔格莱德美术学院,现工作、生活于美国纽约。

 

阿布拉莫维奇的艺术生涯始于20世纪70年代初的贝尔格莱德,她一直将行为艺术视为一种视觉艺术形式,被认为是当代行为艺术的代表性艺术家。身体始终是她的主题和媒介,她在作品中探索自身身体和心灵的极限,让日常生活中一些简单的动作仪式化,在追求情感和精神的的转化过程中,她也经受着痛苦、疲惫和危险。1975年—1988年,阿布拉莫维奇和乌雷一起实施行为艺术项目。1989年,阿布拉莫维奇又重新回到个人行为艺术项目上。

 

阿布拉莫维奇的作品曾在荷兰埃因霍温市立凡艾比美术馆、法国巴黎蓬皮杜艺术中心、德国柏林国立新美术馆、英国牛津现代艺术博物馆等艺术机构展出。并参加两届威尼斯双年展和三届卡塞尔文献展。近年的行为项目有:“海景房”(纽约西恩·凯利画廊)、“七件作品”(纽约古根海姆博物馆)、“艺术家在场”(纽约现代艺术博物馆)、“512小时”(伦敦蛇形画廊)。

 

阿布拉莫维奇在行为艺术上的探索,为她赢得了包括威尼斯双年展“巴尔干巴洛克”最佳艺术家金狮奖、奥地利爵士勋章以及法国文化部授予的艺术与文学军官勋章。她还创办了玛丽娜·阿布拉莫维奇研究所(MAI),这是一个非实体的平台,长期致力于为各领域思想家之间的合作创造新的可能性,并在2015年成为巴黎圣保罗庞皮亚艺术中心“共同点”展览的一部分。

 

个人网站:www.marinaxabramovic.com

玛丽娜·阿布拉莫维奇学院网站: www.mai-hudson.org